I thought it was a good quality game with good combos from both sides. Very competitive yet very fair - a bit of controversy around the first penalty but by the end of the day I suggest both penalties (one for red, one for white) were fairly straightforward.
Jessen again managed the team selection n line up well and drove home a 7:5 win for his team.
Karthi is leaving for Germany so once more all the best to him!
Not an easy win but happy we pulled it off. we must have played something like 75-80 mins that day and lots of opportunities in front of goal for whites were either saved brilliantly by reds keeper or blasted wide.
Post by Jon Stratton on Oct 29, 2015 9:26:27 GMT 8
Nothing to do with the result, as the reason we lost is the amount of chances I missed - I couldn't have scored in orchard towers on Sunday - Having said that, the first penalty was clearly not a penalty - one of the reds even admitted it after the game. It was ball to hand and Perminder's arm could not have been more down by his side.
The current rule is obviously the best one to use and continue to do so, but in the face of blatant cheating how can we stop it? The ball was simply grabbed, put on the spot and taken despite protest from our side. The only option you have is to argue and waste everyone's time or just let people claim whatever they want. You can't say the penalties balanced themselves out either because the one for whites was obviously a penalty.
I don't care about the result the other day but hopefully it wont happen again, otherwise it could start getting farcical.
Jon, it is one thing to disagree with a penalty decision. We all do at times. But it is another thing to accuse reds of cheating.
Perminder as the captain and the player accused of a handball had a brief discussion with the other red player (Kien?) involved in the incident. From what I could gather Perminder did not deny it being a hand-ball but was pointing out it was not intentional. As for his role as captain he did nt seem to insist to Jessen (the red captain) that no penalty should be awarded. Hence the penalty was taken.
Going forward I suggest to involve the captains even more.
I wanted to make a call - but I was playing keeper at the other end and could not see the contact. Was tempted to call it as not a penalty but I'm sure the players around were in better position to make it. But hey, Karma is a funny thing, and the same thing happened on the opposite end. Penalty given and scored in similar fashion as well. Off the bottom left post for both penalties. Very clinically taken by both Rainer and Cathal.
p/s : Just my personal opinion, I think we fuss too much about such fouls/decisions. Man up and play on. (Unless its a seriously rough tackle or blatant attempt not to play the ball)
Post by Jon Stratton on Oct 30, 2015 14:09:45 GMT 8
It is nothing personal Rainer, I am sure whites would have done the same. It just shouldn't be done on a 'who shouts loudest' basis, a lot of people get fouled and get on with it (you being one of them). This is the first time this has happened so it is very rare and I agree with both of your statements - captains get involved if required and also unless it is obviously deliberate (arm moves towards the ball/ is raised) or rough tackle then just get on with it.
It wasn't me discussing w Perminder in-game as I was in my own defensive area when the penalty was called and taken.
That said since my name was dropped I will weigh in.
Ball to hand, or hand to ball? That is the key issue.
In Perminder's case, the ball was crossed/shot from the side and as he was tracking back to defend, the ball hit his arm. Some might argue there's enough time to retract a limb given the distance from where/when the ball was kicked.
[Sidebar: it is my opinion that a corner kick-in hitting any opposing player's arm whilst he is standing unharassed (i.e. no one pushed him) in the zone right in front of goal is a penalty. That was the basis of another penalty a few weeks earlier.]
Then in Nazriee's case, it was during an attacking move by the opposing team into our penalty area that saw a convergence of at least 3 players - Ben Backx (?), Naz and myself. As we descended towards goal and folks were trying to get a kick in, the ball bounced straight up and onto Naz's arm. To me, there is a whole lot less reaction time for this ball-to-hand. In light of the aggrieved folks who felt the first penalty was undeserved, on my end I decided to not contest it -- I can't speak for the rest but I think that was the general sentiment.
So the conceding (vs. opposing) of the 2nd penalty incident wasn't "karma" per se but more of a goodwill gesture to even things out.